Thomas E. Rohrer, MD, from Chestnut Hill, Mass, and Murad Alam, MD, MBA, from Chicago assumed the leadership reins as president and vice president, respectively, of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association during the 2016 ASDS Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

They join others on the ASDS leadership team, who also began their terms during the meeting.

ASDS / ASDSA President Thomas E. Rohrer, MD

ASDS / ASDSA President Thomas E. Rohrer, MD

Rohrer is a physician at SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Mass, and an adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Brown University in Rhode Island. He received the ASDS President’s Award in 2010 and is a past recipient of the Excellence in Education award, according to separate media releases from ASDS.

“I will passionately fight for strong advocacy for all aspects of dermatology and dermatologic surgery on both the national and state level,” he says. “We must align with other organizations both within and outside of dermatology. We will be far more successful being proactive than reactive.”

He succeeds Naomi Lawrence, MD, who becomes the Society’s Immediate Past President.


ASDS / ASDSA Vice President Murad Alam, MD, MBA

Alam is vice chair of the department of dermatology at Northwestern University, where he also serves as a professor of Dermatology, Otolaryngology and Surgery and Section Chief of Cutaneous and Aesthetic Surgery. He has served on numerous ASDS committees and work groups, including the Cosmetic Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship Accreditation Work Group and Task Force on Guidelines on Neurotoxin Reconstitution, Use & Storage, the release states.

As vice president, he will ascend to president-elect in 2017-18 and president in 2018-19.

“I hope to work with our physician leaders and capable staff to continue the important work of ASDS and to do my best to overcome obstacles in this time of uncertainty and change,” he says in the release.

Elected to the ASDS leadership team during the ASDS meeting are: President-Elect Lisa M. Donofrio, MD; Vice President Murad Alam, MD, MBA; and Secretary Sue Ellen Cox, MD.

In addition, newly elected Board of Directors include: Doris J. Day, MD, of New York, NY; Lawrence J. Green, MD, of Rockville, Md; and Margaret A. Weiss, MD, of Hunt Valley, Md.

[Source(s): American Society for Dermatologic Surgery, PRWeb]