Jeffrey E. Janis, MD, Columbus, Ohio, professor and executive vice chairman of the Department of Plastic Surgery at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, was named president of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS), the world’s largest organization of board-certified plastic surgeons and foremost authority on cosmetic and reconstructive surgery.

Dr. Janis will take office at Plastic Surgery The Meeting, the Society’s annual scientific meeting, in Orlando, Fla. and will serve for one year.

“I am proud to lead a global organization that has advocated for patient safety and advanced quality care to plastic surgery patients for more than 80 years,” noted Dr. Janis. “As ASPS president, I will ensure that the organization continues to provide public education initiatives, educational offerings, advocacy opportunities and resources to support its members in cosmetic and reconstructive plastic surgery. Patient safety is and always will be the chief concern of ASPS, and one of my primary goals over the next year is to focus on physician wellness as a means of reducing the burnout epidemic we’re seeing across medicine so that plastic surgeons can continue providing high-quality care to their patients.”

Dr. Janis completed his undergraduate education at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, where he graduated magna cum laude from the Olin School of Business with honors in Management and Marketing. Dr. Janis went on to receive his medical degree from Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Cleveland, Ohio, where he was inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha, the medical honor society. He was also the recipient of the William D. Holden Award in Surgery, given to the most outstanding student going into a surgical career. He completed his integrated plastic surgery residency at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

Dr. Janis joined the faculty in the Department of Plastic Surgery at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in 2003. While there, he was appointed to the level of Associate Professor and Program Director for the largest plastic surgery residency training program in the country, and he also served as co-director of the Wound Healing Fellowship at the same location.  Furthermore, he served as the Chief of Plastic Surgery at Parkland Health and Hospital System from 2006-2013. During his tenure at UTSW, Dr. Janis was awarded Clinician of the Year, Distinguished Physician of the Year, an Outstanding Leadership Award, and twice awarded Special Achievement Awards for Outstanding Contributions and Dedication to Advances in Plastic Surgery Resident Education. He was also named Teacher of the Year twice.  He was inducted into the prestigious Southwest Academy of Teachers as well as named “Distinguished Teaching Professor” by the University of Texas Academy of Health Sciences Education.

Read the full release at