Daniel M. Siegel, MD,  a Smithtown, NY-based dermatologist is the new president of the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) and Zoe D. Draelos, MD, a High Point, N.C dermatologist is the new vice president of the AAD.

Both assumed office at the conclusion of the Academy’s 70th Annual Meeting in San Diego, and will remain in the position for one year, They will also hold the same position for the American Academy of Dermatology Association.

“My goal as president is to continue our specialty’s efforts in providing excellent dermatologic care to our patients,” says Siegel in a press release. “To that end, the Academy must continue to provide first-class continuing medical education to dermatologists, advocate for increased funding for research, and participate in medical economic discussions.”

Siegel earned his medical degree from Albany Medical College in Albany, NY. He completed his residency in dermatology at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Dallas and his fellowship at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Siegel also has a master’s degree in management and policy from Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, NY. He is a clinical professor of dermatology and director of the procedural dermatology fellowship at the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn. He is a past member of both the Academy’s board of directors and the executive committee. In addition, he is a past member of the boards of directors of the American College of Mohs Surgery and the Women’s Dermatologic Society.

Draelos is a consulting professor of dermatology at Duke University School of Medicine in Durham, N.C. She earned a medical degree from the University of Arizona in Tucson. She also completed an internal medicine internship and dermatology residency at the University of Arizona. Draelos is a past member of the Academy’s board of directors and the current chair of the Council on Communications. She also is chair of the pamphlets editorial board and a member of several committees. She is editor-in-chief of the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, and has served as president of the North Carolina Dermatology Association and as a member of the board of directors of the American Society for Dermatology Surgery.

Source: AAD